Fix for “Unable to resolve dependency” Vagrant issue on macOS

Ilya Glebov
1 min readDec 27, 2020

--

I mostly use Docker, but I need to play around with Ansible, so I’ve decided to blow the dust off the Vagrant.

The process

My plan was damn simple: to run Ubuntu 20.04 in Vagrant on MacOS:

vagrant init ubuntu/focal64

And I got an error:

Vagrant failed to initialize at a very early stage
// blah blah blah

I went like:

vagrant plugin repair

No luck:

Failed to automatically repair installed Vagrant plugins
// blah blah

Then I:

vagrant plugin expunge --reinstall

Nope:

// blah blah
Unable to resolve dependency: user requested 'vagrant-vbguest (= 0.15.2)'

And now the magic part!

vagrant plugin install vagrant-vbguest

I got:

Installing the 'vagrant-vbguest' plugin. This can take a few minutes...
Installed the plugin 'vagrant-vbguest (0.28.0)'!

Then again:

vagrant plugin expunge --reinstall

Perfect.

And right after that, we go back to the beginning:

vagrant init ubuntu/focal64

with the result:

A `Vagrantfile` has been placed in this directory. You are now
ready to `vagrant up` your first virtual environment!

I suppose this is not only about the vagrant-vbguest plugin. Just adapt to your case, maybe vagrant-hostmanager or something else.

🤙🏼

--

--